Who is Welty and why is he Writing?

What’s a 23 year old who’s barely started his career doing writing a newsletter?

You’re probably asking yourself the above, just as I am while writing this. Fortunately for the both of us, I have somewhat of an answer.

What’s my deal? 

Throughout my adolescence, and into my (relatively-short) adult life, I’ve spent each day fighting to do more. Day in and day out, I self-analyze, reflect, and iterate to become a better version of myself. Some of you may be thinking, “ok, well, that’s called being an adult” or “this guy sounds like an arrogant consultant”. Both of these thoughts are fair because I do believe that striving for personal growth is essential for a healthy adult life. Plus, I started my career in consulting (but don't hold it against me). I now work at a seed-stage startup, handling customer success, implementation, growth, and GTM strategy.

Reaching a point where I feel comfortable with my mental health and confident enough to maintain a growth mindset hasn't been easy. A large part of how I keep myself on track is through harnessing the same anxious energy I’ve always had to instead observe and (somewhat) critically analyze the world around me. I love to talk through new ideas and think through potential societal impacts. That's why I left consulting and joined the tech industry—where thoughts flow freely, and innovation is rewarded. Oh, I also minored in Sociology in college, which I think I’ve now made a personality trait. Something tells me that contributes pretty heavily as well.

So, why should you join me?

I understand what it’s like to be career focused, with a desire to move fast and learn as much as possible, all while battling an internally generated lack of self-confidence and anxiety. More people than ever, especially as my generation enters the workforce, must learn to balance the internal pressures of anxiety with the external demands to perform. By sharing my stories, struggles, and general thoughts on business, tech, and mental health, I hope we can learn and grow together. You can expect a wide range of casually written content, including think-pieces, interviews, and personal anecdotes.